Greek Yogurt in Japan

This post has been updated as a brand of greek yogurt is available in many stores. 

greek yogurt japan

This yogurt has been released by Morinaga and is available in many stores. The yogurt brand is Partheno and it is labelled as 濃密ギリシャヨーグルト (noumitsu girishayouguruto). You can also get it on Amazon

greek yogurt in japan

 

The above yogurt is Caspian Sea yogurt (kaspikai youguruto カスピ海ヨーグルト). It is not thick like Greek yogurt but is thinner. It is smooth and rich. I’ve seen it in most supermarkets that stock at least a few foreign products.

If you can’t find Greek yogurt in your area you can always strain regular yogurt. Here are some instructions.

If you haven’t signed up yet, head here to join my email newsletter. You will get recipes I haven’t shared here on the blog and advanced notice about upcoming cooking classes.

15 thoughts on “Greek Yogurt in Japan

  1. Thank you for the recommendation, I used to buy the Bulgarian yoghurt by Meiji. Shortly after the accident stopped buying and recently was craving yoghurt. I will buy and try it today:)

    • I tried the yoghurt, it tasted right but the consistency is very weird. It is very slimy. I think I like the Bulgarian yoghurt more. Do you have any idea where the Bulgarian yoghurt is made in?

      • I looked a bit on the internet and they use mixed milk and each factory uses different sources. It may be hard to find out exactly where.

  2. Good tip! I had been wondering about this previously but hadn’t had the time to go looking for it (wanted it to make frozen yogurt, as I usually strain out regular yogurt). I checked at my local store and found a few different brands, all named the same. For this one above, do you know if the milk they use comes from Kobe as well, or is it sourced from elsewhere? We’ve been buying our yogurt mostly through Oisix these days.

    • It might be hard to find hummus in stores but it’s not hard to find everything you need to make it yourself. Tahini may be hard but there is a local sesame paste product that you could use instead or skip it like I do.

  3. I’m making a falafel extravaganza tonight and this article helped me easily locate the Greek yogurt I was procrastinating about finding!

  4. I’ve got so many recipes that I’ve been wanting to try but I’d been putting off because they call for Greek Yogurt and I didn’t know where to find it. I’ll be checking my supermarket tonight ! Thank you !

    • Thanks for saying hello. I hope your supermarket carries it. Just a word of warning Greek yogurt in Japan is a bit slimier than in the US or Canada. Still tastes great though 🙂

  5. I bought this today, and my friend who has eaten Greek Yogurt once before said this was not Greek yogurt. I can’t tell because I have never tried it before. I did look up on the internet though, and Wikipedia says it’s Matsoni. Is there a difference between GY & Matsoni then?

    • Thank you for bringing this up. Apparently there is a difference that I wasn’t aware of. I will have to correct the post. Greek yogurt is supposed to be thicker. You can make it yourself by straining it through a cheesecloth or coffee filter.

Leave a comment